2009 Presidential $1 Coins

The John Tyler Presidential $1 Coin coin will be released on May 21. With that occurring just around the corner, we at World Mint Coins thought you might like to review the Presidential coins that the US Mint has scheduled for 2009.

2009 Presidential $1 Coins*

Harrison Presidential $1
John Tyler Presidential $1 Coin
James K. Polk Presidential $1 Coin
Zachary Taylor Presidential $1 Coin


William Henry Harrison's coin was issued on February 19th. The US Mint held a ceremony at Harrison’s Virginia home at the Berkeley Plantation. As the mint has traditionally done, thousands of newly struck coins were given away free to children, while adults were allowed to exchange for $1 rolls.

John Tyler's Presidential Coin is set to be released on May 21st. Dubbed "His Accidency" by critics, the coin bearing Tyler's likeness is sure to be a hit with collector's.

James K. Polk's coin will be offered on August 20th. Serving only one term as he promised during the election, Polk would oversee the addition of over a million square miles to the United States. His coin will make a great addition to anyone's collection!

Zachary Taylor's coin has a release date of November 19th. His fame is based more on his accomplishments in the US Army than on his presidential career, but his coin will march into circulation in late 2009.

All of these coins are, or will be, available in circulated form. In addition they will be part of special sets, including individual presidents coin covers, and 2009 uncirculated and proof sets combining all the presidential coins for the year.

For more information on a specific coin, click on the pictures above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>