US Mint Releases 2012 Presidential $1 Coin Uncirculated Set

2012 Presidential $1 Coin Uncirculated Set (US Mint images)The United States Mint today, May 1, 2012, released the newest annual coin set in its portfolio. The 2012 Presidential $1 Coin Uncirculated Setâ„¢ is available now directly from the US Mint for $16.95, plus the Mint's standard shipping and handling charge of $4.95 per order.

Included as part of the set are two uncirculated quality examples of each of the four 2012-dated Presidential $1 Coins. This includes coins honoring Chester Arthur, Grover Cleveland (1st Term), Benjamin Harrison and Grover Cleveland (2nd Term).

One example of each Presidential Coin is struck at the US Mint's facility in Philadelphia with the second example of each coin struck at the US Mint's facility in Denver. Typically, these two facilities are responsible for producing the circulating coinage of the United States, of which the Presidential series used to be.

However, in December of 2011, circulating production of the Presidential $1 Coin series was suspended. The order came at the discretion of the Secretary of the Treasury as part of a broader Campaign to Cut Government Waste established by President Barack Obama.

The series was seen as wasteful for circulation because stockpiles of them were growing in Federal Reserve vaults. As a result of the cancellation, coins of the series are now only struck for numismatic purposes.

Each of the eight coins of the set are each presented in separate rotatable blisters affixed to an illustrated folder. The folder contains information on the series as well as the four Presidents featured in the 2012 releases along with portraits of those Presidents.

The series itself debuted in 2007 and honors the former Presidents in the order in which they served. Since Chester Arthur is the 21st, Grover Cleveland (1st term) is the 22nd, Benjamin Harrison the 23rd and Grover Cleveland (2nd term) the 24th, these four coins are issued as the 21st through 24th of the series. Of interest, Grover Cleveland is the only individual to have served two separate terms in office as President, thus he is the only individual to be featured in the series on two different coins.

Coins of the series are also issued in other US Mint products. One example is the Chester Arthur Boxes and Rolls released on April 5, 2012. They also appear as part of several other annual coin sets of the US Mint such as the Presidential $1 Coin Proof Sets and the annual United States Mint Proof Sets.

Orders for the new 2012 Presidential $1 Coin Uncirculated Setâ„¢ may be placed directly with the United States Mint via their toll-free number of -800-USA-MINT (872-6468) or via the Mint's website of A mintage limit of 100,000 is in place for the release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>